USA Hockey will host its 2015 Annual Congress June 3-6, in Colorado Springs, Colorado. The four-day event provides USA Hockey’s various councils, committees and affiliates the opportunity to conduct the business of the national governing body and celebrate accomplishment. This year's event will feature two dinners, including a gala that will honor Ron DeGregorio, who is retiring as president of the organization, and also the 35th anniversary of the 1980 U.S. Olympic Hockey Team.


USA Hockey will honor its service award recipients and various players of the year on June 3 at its annual Night of Tribute Awards Dinner, while the other top awards will be presented during the President's Awards Gala on June 5.

Wednesday’s award recipients include Adult Member of the Year Pat Weber (Eagle River, Wis.), Adult Player of the Year Scott Ferris (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Bob Allen Women’s Player of the Year Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.), Bob Johnson Award winner Auston Matthews (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Chet Stewart Award winner Gerald Moran (Gaylord, Mich.), College Player of the Year Jack Eichel (North Chelmsford, Mass.), Dave Tyler Junior Player of the Year Kyle Connor (Shelby Township, Mich.), Dave Peterson Goaltender of the Year Eric Schierhorn (Anchorage, Alaska), Disabled Athlete of the Year Matthew Murray (Buffalo, N.Y.), Excellence in Safety Award winner, Dr. Chip Burke (Pittsbrugh, Pa.) and Walter Yaciuk Award winner Matt Walsh (Waunakee, Wis.).

President’s Awards Gala honorees on June 5 will include Builders Award recipient Peter Lindberg (Eden Prairie, Minn.), Distinguished Achievement Award winner Butch Johnson (Hayward, Wis.) and Wm. Thayer Tutt Award recipient Ted Cunniff (South Boston, Mass.).

Hockey News

Expectations: The Four-Way Intersection in Youth Sports

By Michael Rand - Special to USA Hockey

Communication, the expression goes, is a two-way street. In youth hockey associations, though, communication

 is the key to navigating a complicated four-way intersection between individual players, parents, coaches and the team as a whole.

Each entity has a set of ideal expectations for the others

Read more ...

7 Americans Selected in the NHL Draft First Round

2015 NHL Draft Central

06/26/2015, 8:15pm MDT

SUNRISE, Fla. — Seven Americans were chosen tonight in the first round of the 2015 NHL Draft. Not since 2010 (11) have more U.S.-born players been selected in the first round.

Jack Eichel (North Chelmsford, Mass./Boston University) was the first American selected when the Buffalo Sabres took him second overall, while Noah Hanifin (Norwood, Mass./Boston College) was taken fifth overall by the Carolina Hurricanes. This marks the first time since 2007 that two Americans were among the first five selected.

The Columbus Blue Jackets made Zach Werenski (Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich./University of Michigan) the eighth overall pick, marking the first time in NHL Draft history that three NCAA players have been selected in the top-10 picks.

Kyle Connor (Shelby Township, Mich./Youngstown Phantoms) was the next American chosen when the Winnipeg Jets selected him with the 21st pick. Colin White (Hanover, Mass./U.S. National Under-18 Team) was selected 21st by the Ottawa Senators, Brock Boeser (Burnsville, Minn./Waterloo Black Hawks) was chosen with the 23rd pick by the Vancouver Canucks, and Jack Roslovic (Columbus, Ohio/U.S. National Under-18 Team) was taken 25th overall by the Winnipeg Jets to round out American choices in the first round.

All seven U.S.-born players selected tonight are current or future college hockey players, marking the most NCAA first-round picks since 2010 (7). In addition to all seven players having ties to the United States Hockey League, the only Tier I junior league in the United States, five players (Eichel, Hanifin, Roslovic, Werenski, and White) spent time with USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program.

The 2015 NHL Draft will resume tomorrow (June 27) when rounds two through seven take place. Coverage will take place on The NHL Network and begin at 10 a.m. ET.

Ron DeGregorio has announced that he is retiring from the presidency at USAH. Through his leadership, USA Hockey has evolved into arguably the leading hockey federation in the world today.

From championing the USA Hockey SafeSport Program in 2012 to helping fuel national support for passage of the organization’s Progressive Checking Skill Development Program in 2011,

Read more ...