NY State Hockey is divided into 4 sections sometimes referred to as zones.

Each section contains the following counties:

nysections website color2015



(a)    Central Section:  Broome, Cayuga, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, Schuler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins and Wayne;

(b)    East Section: Bronx, Dutchess, Kings, New York, Nassau, Queens, Orange, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, 

Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester;

(c)    North Section:  Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Mont

(d)    West Section:  Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Wyoming and Yates.gomery, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren and Washington;


Each Section elects a president and alternate president every two years. The NYSAHA Guidebook outlines the by-laws that govern each of the sections. Each section also has their own rules specific to their area.